Fort Sam Houston ISD

Awards and Recognition » Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award

Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award

Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award
2014 Fort Sam Houston Independent School District winner of the Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award Dr. Melanie Moran has been teaching at Fort Sam Houston Elementary School since 2006. She currently teaches first grade but has also been a Technology Applications teacher and an Instructional Design Coach for the campus.

Dr. Morgan believes that outstanding teaching involves the sharing of knowledge, establishing relationships with students and their families, and most of all instilling the passion for learning that helps students succeed in the workforce.

Dr. Morgan is the Grade Level Chairperson for the first grade team, playing a significant role in school level planning and program development. She is also the Webmaster for Fort Sam Houston Elementary School, making sure a parent’s quest for information is as efficient and useful as possible.

Veteran Nominees
Margie Lee, 1982             Barbara Cheney, 1991         Linda Reed, 2000            Louis Sifuentes, 2009*
John Yarling, 1983           Melrose Haley, 1992            Kelly Palmer, 2001           Laura Lamoureux, 2010
Betty Taylor, 1984            Dr. Martin McCall, 1993       Gail Helt, 2002                Donna Tripp, 2011
Henry H. Griffis, 1985       Cynthia Riggs, 1994            Patricia Feola, 2003         Nora Gonzalez, 2012
Collen Dement, 1986       James Hudson, 1995           Amy Cichon, 2004            Michalle McCallister 2013
Ronald Tullis, 1987           Rosa Escamilla, 1996         Robert Hoffmann, 2005    Dr. Melanie Morgan 2014
Barbara Husting, 1988     Gene Willis, 1997                Cindy Kautz, 2006
Sue Rowland, 1989          Robin Hansen, 1998           Jackie Stott, 2007
Marion Chandler, 1990     Patricia Leer, 1999             Mary Harrell, 2008

Award Information
Since the 1981-82 academic year, Trinity University's Department of Education has bestowed the Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching on truly outstanding teachers from pre-kindergarten to Grade 12. Hailed by educators throughout the San Antonio region as a prestigious hallmark of dedication and commitment, the Trinity Prize recognizes and honors individual teachers as well as teaching as a profession.
A blue-ribbon panel of community and business leaders and exceptional Trinity education students reviews applications from 21 school districts affiliated with the Center for Educational Leadership to select winners who exhibit outstanding teaching practices and educational leadership. Winners receive a $2,500 cash award and a crystal apple from Tiffany & Co.
Joining Trinity in the process of honoring such teachers are the H.E.B. Grocery Co. and The San Antonio Express-News. Each year Trinity University invites the superintendents of the 18 school districts that are members of the Trinity Center for Educational Leadership to initiate the selection process to name a Distinguished Educator. The Distinguished Educators are recognized and honored at the Kappa Delta Pi Lecture and Awards Ceremony at Trinity University. Two of the 18 Distinguished Educators will be selected to receive the Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching.

Application Information
Nominees provide evidence of outstanding teaching to include an understanding of content knowledge, planning for student learning, engaging all students in meaningful learning, establishing a classroom community, demonstrating professional communication, and developing as a professional educator. Nominees also describe examples of educational leadership addressing contributions to the school community, school district, and the teaching profession.